Fenriz is back with another mixtape for Vice. This one is called Trapped Under Vice, Vol. II. (For Vol. I, see here). Despite the very metal cover, the contents are very not-metal. Fenriz says, “Welcome to a time travel to the rock of 1968-1978, all across the globe from Iceland to Australia.” For his full liner notes, see here. This collection is a little psych, a little prog, a little heavy, and a lot of awesome. You can’t go wrong with Spooky Tooth and Sir Lord Baltimore. This mixtape makes me feel “softer” in a good way.

Trapped Under Vice, Vol. II [103.45 MB, .zip] [Mirror]

– – –

1. Fever Tree (USA) ‘Filigree & Shadow’ (1968)
2. Ice Cross (Iceland) ‘Jesus Freaks’ (1978)
3. Caravan (UK) ‘Cecil Rons’ (and it’s RONS not RUNS) (1968)
4. Gun (UK) ‘Race with the Devil’ (1968)
5. Spooky Tooth (UK) ‘Better by You, Better Than Me’ (1969)
6. Lucifer’s Friend (Germany/UK) ‘Lucifer’s Friend’ (1970)
7. Cactus (USA) ‘Parchman Farm’ (1970)
8. Scorpion (USA) ‘Take A Look At Yourself’ (1969)
9. Sir Lord Baltimore (USA) ‘Lady of Fire’ (1970)
10. Black Widow (UK) ‘In Ancient Days’ (1970)
11. The Open Mind (UK) ‘Thor, the Thunder God’ (1969)
12. Flax (Norway) ‘Demon in Your Heart’ (1976)
13. Lobby Loyde & The Coloured Balls (Australia) ‘Human Being’ (1973)
14. Amon Düül II (Germany) ‘Archangel [Live]’ (1975)
15. Jane (Germany) ‘Janesession’ (1975)
16. Black Oak Arkansas (USA) ‘When Electricity Came to Arkansas [Live]’ (1973)