With only a drummer and guitar, you expect a band to be stripped down no frills, and Zolle obliges in that respect, but little else about Zolle meets expectations.

From Bruzzelle, Italy, the two members of Zolle, Marcello Lan (guitar) and Stefano (drums) bring with them DNA from Zu, Morkobot, OvO, One Dimensional Man, and others. And they occasionally ask their friends for help: Urlo from Ufomammut adds some synthesizer flourishes here and there. Zolle recorded this album late last year after working on it all summer. Recorded by Michelangelo Roberti at Mizkey Studio (Morkobot) and mastered by Giovanni Versari (Zu, Morkobot, OvO, One Dimensional Man), the band performed it almost entirely live.

No vocalist needed for this aural assault…what you do get is instant head banging riffs driven by big drums and guitar rhythms that can't decide if they're mathy or sludgy, psychedelic, or doomy. Are they drunk on olive oil and wine? Or just hungover from picking tomatoes in the hot Italian sun? Listen to "Trakthor" and "Heavy Letam" below and you decide.

— Vanessa Salvia

. . .

Italian underground label Supernatural Cat -- run by Malleus Rock Art Lab, the artist collective featuring two members of the psychedelic doom trio Ufomammut -- will uncork Zolle on May 13th.

Track listing:
1. Trakthor
2. Leequame
3. Forko
4. Mayale
5. Man Ja To Ya!
6. Melicow
7. Heavy Letam
8. Weetellah
9. Trynchatowak
10. Moongitruce


More From Invisible Oranges