Swedish post-metal greats Cult of Luna recently shared the towering, ten-and-a-half-minute song "The Silent Man," and now they have announced that it will be the opening track of their new album, A Dawn To Fear, due September 20 via Metal Blade (pre-order). It's the band's first album since their great 2016 collaborative album with Julie Christmas, and their first "proper," non-collaborative album in six years (following 2013's Vertikal). Along with the announcement, they've put out a video for "The Silent Man."

Vocalist/guitarist and lead songwriter Johannes Persson says:

We knew exactly the album we wanted to make, and that was the antithesis of everything we've done before. or pretty much every album there's been a very concrete theme. We've known from the start the kind of story we wanted to tell, and I didn't want that to be the case. I've seen a lot of subtle changes and patterns in my own behavior and my own thinking the last couple of years, and I wanted this to be a completely spontaneous process. I just wanted to see what came out of me, and 'A Dawn To Fear' is the result of that.

And he later added:

We're a collective, and when I say that I mean that the band's sound is the sound of us as individual members doing what we naturally do. Having the guys in the band come in with input, we create an actual song from the ideas I've come up with very quickly because I'm lucky enough to play with a lot of talented people. There's a lot of varied instrumentation on the record and everything you hear on there is played by someone in the band, there are no guest musicians involved.

You can read more here, and see the tracklist and new video below. Cult of Luna also have European tour dates coming up this fall, including shows with Brutus and A.A Williams. All dates are on the tour poster below; tickets here.

1. The Silent Man
2. Lay Your Head to Rest
3. A Dawn to Fear
4. Nightwalker
5. Lights on the Hill
6. We Feel the End
7. Inland Rain
8. The Fall

More From Invisible Oranges