While After Earth's deft grasp of nostalgia-triggering melodic riffs is a strong initial selling point, their debut album The Rarity of Reason delivers an impressive amount of pure, muscular death metal–across eight tracks, the Swedish group reveals that what initially seems like a romp through catchy grooves is also pummeling, full-bore violence. While the album nails the very specific sounds of melodic death metal's past, After Earth is also poised to seize the present with an iron fist. Stream the album here in full before it drops on Friday.

There's a clarity of production on The Rarity of Reason that decouples it from pure nostalgia worship, but it doesn't feel too glossy or overwrought. Instead, the clarity and punchy drums keep the band's tight chugs and explosive rhythmic shifts cleanly in focus, while still leaving room for sick melodic harmonies behind everything. It took numerous lineup shifts and last-minute changeups to get to this point, but After Earth's debut album reflects their searing, crystal-clear vision of melodic death metal.


The Rarity of Reason releases August 18th independently via Bandcamp.

After Earth Tour Dates:

  • 2023-09-07: Zalău, Romania - Rock'N'Roll Center
  • 2023-09-08: Târgu Jiu, Romania - Piano Club
  • 2023-09-09: Sofia, Bulgaria - The Pit
  • 2023-09-10: Ruse, Bulgaria - Karaoke Star
  • 2023-09-11: Galați, Romania - 90's Pub
  • 2023-09-12: Cluj-Napoca, Romania - La Tevi
  • 2023-09-13: Timișoara, Romania - Manufactura
  • 2023-09-14: TBA, Hungary - TBA
  • 2023-09-15: Veszprém, Hungary - Terem
  • 2023-09-16: Prague, Czech Republic - Hospoda Brouk
  • 2023-09-17: TBA, Czech Republic - TBA
  • 2023-09-20: Kraków, Poland - Garage Pub
  • 2023-09-21: Warsawa, Poland - Metal Cave
  • 20233-09-22: Olsztyn, Poland - Pub Las
  • 2023-09-23: Kaunas, Lithuania - Baras Galera